Author Topic: "Dia De Los Muertos"  (Read 657 times)

Andrea Hernandez

"Dia De Los Muertos"
« on: October 30, 2020, 11:41:40 PM »
July 2013

“What the fuck was that?” I heard the intimidating, booming voice of my father being directed toward me after I had lost a match on the Arizona state independent wrestling scene. In that very locker room, I was terrified of my father as his tall stature hovering over me just made me feel even guiltier of letting him down than I already was feeling.

“I… I don’t know…” my skittish, 19-year-old self would respond, clearly wanting to do everything that I could in order to hide.

“What do you mean you don’t know?” my father asked me. “That was an opponent you should’ve beaten! I’ve been training you for the last three years and you can’t even beat someone who is fresh out of wrestling school? What the fuck is wrong with you?”

Again, I was cringing in fear at my father. Tears were already flooding my eyes and face. My father grabbed me by the wrist, pulling me up from where I was sitting and then he shoved me into the wall, although he didn’t press me against the wall in any way. My eyes widened in surprise that my father was suddenly so physically aggressive and his frustration was permeating throughout his entire aura so much so that I could practically feel it. He lets out an extremely angry sigh as the pressure on my shoulders just stacked up even more.

“It’s losing to people less experienced than you and feeling embarrassed by that…” my father began, pausing for a brief moment of hesitation. “...that’s exactly why you ever being a professional was ever a bad idea to begin with.”

“...what?” I asked him through my tears. “Daddy, I’m 19 years old. I’m not even close to being mainstream ready and…”

“Damn right you’re not…”

“You’re acting as if I should already have the experience of a 10 year veteran and…”