Author Topic: Mr Everything  (Read 445 times)

Offline StephenCallaway

• View Profile
    • Stephen Callaway
Mr Everything
« on: August 27, 2020, 05:02:00 PM »

In the underground cinema of the Sin City Wrestling Hotel, we see Stephen Callaway. He sits on his own. The lights from the movie illuminate him. He turns and looks at the camera.

Stephen Callaway
 "You know, I hate the term 'veteran'. I even hate being a veteran in this business.

To me veterans are those old people you see on the TV. Somewhere in their eighties being pushed around in a wheelchair every November as a memory of a war from so long ago that we still shouldn't forget.

Old people.

I'm not even 40 and I'm being called a veteran. I'm not even 40 and the question about retirement has been hovering around me for the best part of the last five years.

I've been around for a while and I have a lot of experience. But the idea of being a veteran that is close to retirement is something I struggle with. It's something I know I'll struggle with. I know that somewhere down the road, I'll be in the training system with some new recruits and I'll be more hands on than I ever was to show that I've still got it. That I'm not an old man.

I'd love to be one of the new guys coming through. Just a young thing in my late teens or early twenties. My body wouldn't be sore, all the mistakes I made wouldn't be there, all my experience would still be out there waiting for me to experience it. Everything would be like a sheet of blank paper waiting for my story to be written,

All that potential waiting to be explored.